HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

TASTEFULLY RESTORED 17TH CENTURY LUXURY APARTMENT! CHECK AVAILABILITY WITH OWNA

Tim

Advertiser since: 2008
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish, Dutch
People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Manager

Tim

Advertiser since: 2008
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish, Dutch
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
4 December, 2014
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

TASTEFULLY RESTORED 17TH CENTURY LUXURY APARTMENT! CHECK AVAILABILITY WITH OWNA

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in Amsterdam Old Centre - Michiel de Ruyter House

Per Apartment - 2 Bedrooms - 1 Bath - (Sleeps 4)

Completely Restored Amsterdam Centre Apartment in 17th Century Canal House.

Very stylish and tastefully decorated by famous Award Winning Dutch interior architect Edward van Vliet. Own bathroom and own fully equipped kitchen.

Pots and pans, fridge, dishwasher etc. 1 big bedroom with king size bed, flat screen TV, plenty of storage space. The small bedroom has 2 single beds and a closet. Living room with digital TV/flatscreen, very cozy and comfortable furniture, audio system that allows you to use your own iPod/MP3 player.

Spectacular view on the city harbour with beautiful houseboats, old historical ships, modern architecture and historical buildings. As the apartment is located on a corner, you will enjoy a great view on a typical Amsterdam canal.

You are within walking distance from Central Station, all major museums, the Anne Frank House, the Zoo, bike rentals, boat tours, fitness, tennis and squash court, concert halls, res

Design and History go hand in hand in this apt: The apartment is located in one of the oldest parts of Amsterdam.

The house belonged to Admiral Michiel de Ruyter, who travelled the world seas and defended the Dutch trading interests on many occasions. He was known and still respected for his cunning leadership and the way he treated his man and his vision on naval battle.

The house is fully restored and completely restyled with respect for the old architecture and it's previous owner.

It comes back in the materials and wallpapers that we used. There is no second apartment like these to find in Amsterdam. You will have a great experience in 'the old world' that will not be forgotten easy.

You Will Not Find Another Apartment In Amsterdam With This Level of Quality/Price!

New Decorated, A Top Location, Clean, Comfortable!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Tim (Property Manager)
Advertiser since: 2008
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish, Dutch
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
4 December, 2014

Why HomeAway

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

4
based on 4 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
TASTEFULLY RESTORED 17TH CENTURY LUXURY APARTMENT! CHECK AVAILABILITY WITH OWNA
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
business
TASTEFULLY RESTORED 17TH CENTURY LUXURY APARTMENT! CHECK AVAILABILITY WITH OWNA
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p177183
Amsterdam Old Centre Amsterdam City
5

Excellent

  • 5 out of 5
We visited Amsterdam in April 2009 and stayed in this apartment, there were 4 adults in our group and all of us loved staying here. The views of the harbour are fantastic and the location of the apartment is ideal, it is only a short walk from Central Station and is within easy walking distance of Dam Square and the Red Light District.

The apartment is very well equipped and was spotlessly clean. The owner/manager was very helpful and even offered us a place to store our luggage on the last day of our stay (we had an evening flight and obviously didn't want to carry it with us all day after vacating the apartment).

We were concerned about having to leave a cash security deposit but need not have been as there were no problems with this being returned to us at the end of our stay.

I would defiantely book this apartment again and would highly recommend it.
  • Review Submitted: 14-May-2009
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Oli, Louise, Lee & Cassie,
It is always nice to hear that guests have had such great time in one of our apartments. Your review is an encouragement for us to keep doing our best to make sure that people like you have a great experience.
Thank you, and hopefully we can welcome you again in Amsterdam.
business
TASTEFULLY RESTORED 17TH CENTURY LUXURY APARTMENT! CHECK AVAILABILITY WITH OWNA
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p177183
Amsterdam Old Centre Amsterdam City
Prague
5

Lucie S.

  • 5 out of 5
Everything was absolutely perfect, we spent long weekend in Amsterdam in 2009, the place is absolutely amazing, close to the see and the railway station and to the centre, the owner is great man, thank you for everything. lucie and family from Czech Republic
  • Review Submitted: 10-Nov-2011
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2009
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
TASTEFULLY RESTORED 17TH CENTURY LUXURY APARTMENT! CHECK AVAILABILITY WITH OWNA
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p177183
Amsterdam Old Centre Amsterdam City
seattle and jackson hole, wy
2

noisy, very noisy

  • 2 out of 5
Nice apartment up 2 flights; poorly equipped and maintained; owner hard to find. Nice view and location. Noisy because it is on a major street on one side, quiet canal on the other. We were 4 older women--not the place for us!
  • Review Submitted: 07-Jun-2011
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Andrea, after more then 2 years you have put your review on our advertisement again. We understand that in your perception the apartment seems too loud for you. I am really sorry that it bothered you. However Andrea, we have had so many guests who had a great time in our apartments and we have many guests that keep coming back. The apartment is in the very heart of Amsterdam where the action is and where you can feel the vibes of the city. Most people like that and come for that reason to Amsterdam. I sincerely hope Andrea that you will not make the same mistake again to book an apartment in a lively city because you might face the same problem again. Thank you and regards, Rutger.
business
TASTEFULLY RESTORED 17TH CENTURY LUXURY APARTMENT! CHECK AVAILABILITY WITH OWNA
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p177183
Amsterdam Old Centre Amsterdam City
NY, USA
4

Apartment experience

  • 4 out of 5
This apartment was very conveniently located and well equipped. It was as advertised, convenient for a family. The manager was very friendly and professional. The only problems were: being on a rather busy, noisy street (Not recommended for light sleepers); having no freezer in the included refrigerator (only noted after buying ice cream at the supermarket!); having to supply your own toilet paper!, and seeing a small rat or large mouse run through the living room late one night!
  • Review Submitted: 20-Apr-2010
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hello Jerry, thank you for your positiv review. To to make the experience for our guests even better we have now isolation glass in the windows, in order to keep the street sounds outside. We have had very positiv respons from many guestst so far.
We hope we can have you as our guests again in our beautiful 'Michiel de Ruyter House' in the Heart of Amsterdam.

Location

Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Schiphol or International Airport Amsterdam
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Nearest Ferry
25 Kilometres
IJmuiden
Nearest Train
0.7 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
3 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Metres
Nearest Beach
20 Kilometres
Zandvoort
Car: not necessary

The apartment is located on the very best spot of Amsterdam City Centre. There is a waterfront of the Amsterdam harbour with many houseboats, old historical vessels, but also modern architecture, and monumental buildings around the harbour. The Central Station, all important museums, the Anne Frank House, the Dam Square, Leidseplein, the great shopping area P.C.Hooftstraat, the Vondelpark, the Rembrandplein, many cinemas, a great variety of restaurants and pubs, boat operators, boat and bike rentals. You have it all on walking distance around the apartment. In other words, you couldn't pick yourself a more centrally located vacation spot in Amsterdam.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From €106 Nightly

Rental rates for this holiday apartment in Amsterdam Old Centre, Amsterdam City

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Rate Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Rate
 
Winter
1 Nov 2014 - 26 Dec 2014
2 night minimum stay
€276
for 2 nights
From
€106
 
 
Silvester week
27 Dec 2014 - 1 Jan 2015
3 night minimum stay
€540
for 3 nights
From
€158
 
 
Winter
2 Jan 2015 - 27 Mar 2015
2 night minimum stay
€276
for 2 nights
From
€106
 
 
High Season
28 Mar 2015 - 10 Sep 2015
3 night minimum stay
€476
for 3 nights
From
€137
 
 
IBC Week
11 Sep 2015 - 15 Sep 2015
3 night minimum stay
€635
for 3 nights
From
€190
 
 
High Season
16 Sep 2015 - 30 Oct 2015
3 night minimum stay
€476
for 3 nights
From
€137
 
 
Winter
31 Oct 2015 - 25 Dec 2015
2 night minimum stay
€276
for 2 nights
From
€106
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning €65
Refundable Damage Deposit €400
Tax Rate 5.5%
Notes - Rates are for 2 guests; Surcharge of 3 + 4p guest: € 20.00 per / night.
- Early Nov. to end of March: A minim. of 2 nights € 100.00 / night.
- Last week Dec. / New Year min. 3 nights € 150.00 / night.
- April to Oct. min. 3 nights € 130.00 / night.
- IBC week Sept. € 180.00 / night: Any 1 or guest (max.) 4 guests.
* Cleaning supplement: € 75, -.
* Prices excl. 5.5% Touristtax.
Credit Card, First part at Reservation. Second part prior to Arrival.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Amsterdam Old Centre in Amsterdam City

Property Type:
  • apartment
Forms of Payment:
  • accepts credit card
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Water View ...
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 1 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , 1 sink +cold/hot water
  • Comfortable bathroom. With power for hairdryers and shaving equipment. Good solid shower that always gives hot water. Important: The bathroom is clean, fresh, always with hot water, and a shower that provides plenty of pressure!
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Extra Lg. Double Bed , double kingsizebed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , 2 single beds
  • The master bedroom: You have a king size boxspring bed with summer and winter covers, pillows, and an extra bed cover. Side lamps for reading, a flatscreen TV, plenty of storage, windows with view on a canal with historical buildings. The second bedroom is smaller and simple. Still a nice room with two comfortable beds, good lights, and storage available. Also a fantastic view on the historical harbour of the city.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Bring your own iPod or MP3 player. You can plug it into the audio system. There are 2 flat screen TV's. We have digital TV and WIFI for wireless Internet connection. Towels and linens are provided. In the kitchen you will find: sugar, coffee pads, cream, tablets for both the washing machine and the dishwasher. There is also a vacuum cleaner.

Other holiday rentals

Nightly From £196
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 Bedrooms,
  • 1 Bathroom,
  • Sleeps 6
europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote