I hate to tell people about this place!
We just returned from 8 days at Aquavit. After looking at every luxury posada in Los Roques for the holidays before booking Aquavit, I am so incredibly happy to have chosen to stay here. The house was spacious and impeccably maintained. In terms of service, Lilianna and Angel looked after every detail every day. The cleaning service was excellent and the beach in front of the house was swept of leaves or debris every morning. The location, directly on the beach was wonderful. To be able to look out our bedroom window at the sea and stars and to hear the sea lapping on the shore every morning was far better than any other posada offered in Los Roques. For a self catering house, the house was supplied with all the necessities to prepare breakfasts and other meals. Because electricity on the island was inconsistent, the house does rely on a generator to supply power part of the time. It can be noisy and smelly. However, we simply accepted the generator as part of the Los Roques experience as most other places had the same generators. Also, there is a bar/restaurant close by the house and on some nights music was played loudly. For the most part, the music ended around midnight and the rest of the night was quiet and peaceful. Overall, our friends who stayed in a posada in crowded location in town complained of noise in the close quarters of their posadas and in-town location. Aquavit provides space, privacy and convenience that no posada can offer. I can't recommend it highly enough.
Families with Teenagers,
Families with Young Children,
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your excellent review. Unfortunately the generator was initially installed for emergency purposes only and as you mentioned, due to the power situation in the island it is needed with more frequency. We now have improved the exhaust system and there is less smell in the house. We look forward to your next visit to Aquavit.
Helpful votes: 7/7
Did you find this review helpful?