Maintenance and cleanliness issues spoiled experience
Review Submitted: 23 March 2013
Date of Stay: February 2013
The house was in a lovely location with lots of trees and an open grassy area. The neighborhood seemed friendly and we enjoyed the town of Haiku on our frequent visits. This quiet secluded property was a welcome change from the more touristy areas of the island which we have visited many times over the years. We were a party of six. It was our first stay in the upcountry, but we are all familiar with the vagaries of rural life. However, the owner seems to have left many maintenance issues unresolved until our stay, which necessitated the appearance of a handyman on three separate occasions. The dishwasher needed replacing, the garburator needed fixing, the shower was leaking from upstairs to downstairs and a number of screens had to be replaced. This all occurred while our group was renting the house and it was very disruptive. The owner was quite timely in addressing these issues as we made them known to her, but all this should have been attended to before renting the house. These were existing conditions that we discovered early into our stay. Perhaps the most unsettling issue was that of the screens,which although replaced, had holes again chewed into them within 24 hrs. We suspected rats because of the nature of the gnawing and the droppings found in the vicinity. We purchased traps and set them up, but were not successful. There was also evidence of mice in the house ( a nest was discovered behind the dishwasher when it was replaced). Yes, rodents are a part of rural living, but they can be controlled with due diligence. Rats are on another level entirely. That becomes a real health and hygeine problem that needs immediate attention. We feel disappointed that the owner had allowed house maitenance and cleanliness to deteriorate to this level. We would definitely come back to the upcountry but NOT to this property.
Owner's Response: This was an unfortunate experience for these folks and I felt terrible about the maintenance issues that occurred during their stay. The dishwasher was having problems and yes, had to be replaced. The garbage disposal was jammed due to tenant use and was easily fixed. The shower did have a leak and yes, I had to have it fixed. Sometimes anything that can go wrong does and Murphy's Law took hold. Typically every spring there is a rodent bloom and you have to make sure to not leave doors open at night and keep food off counters as critters will get in and make themselves at home. I had terminix come in and completely eradicate the rodent issue after these gusts left. this home is rural, private, in the jungle and a true escape from everything metro and we do everything we can to keep the house in the best possible condition. The house had also been booked solid for the last six months leaving no space to get in and see what might need attention. Thankfully, these guest were able to alert us and we handled everything in a very timely and efficient manner w/ as little disruption as possible.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?