HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Romantic hide-away cabin in the trees

Owner

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
People4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Owner
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
17 April, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Romantic hide-away cabin in the trees

People4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this holiday cabin in Kalaheo - Treehouse Cabin

Cabin, Studio + Loft, outdoor shower

Honeymooners and surfers of any age love this spot! Your secluded hide-away in nature with access through private 'tree tunnel' adjacent to 26 acre pasture - home to neighbors' horses.

Unique rustic redwood cabin (with hotplate, microwave, toaster oven, fridge etc) in the treetops, just ten minutes from sunny Poipu (voted best beach in the United States), and twenty minutes to the sunny west side with its beautiful beaches.

Centrally located , you can access Kokee National Reserve, Waimea Canyon(Grand canyon of the Pacific)and panoramic views of Kalalau valley and the stunning Na Pali Coast on the west or go north and in an hour the beautiful north shore with its waterfalls and lush beauty are yours.

A perfectly romantic and rustic slice of paradise. Ideal for couples or 2 people wanting to get away and experience beautiful but simple and in nature Kauai.

Living room leads onto lanai and has sleeper couch and tv and dvd. Inside bathroom has toilet and basin and leads to private hot shower on the lanai. Loft with queen size bed up in treetops.

We live here in Kalaheo and have five units - all built and managed by Neil - call (808) 635-3945 to see which of the home stays best suit your needs.

There is a 3% charge for using a credit card or paypal, but when guests pay cash on arrival this is taken off the price.

Keywords: Cabin, cottage, unique, studio, quaint, serene,

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
17 April, 2015

About The Owner

Neil was born in Wales and has lived on Kauai since 1980. He designed and built Kauaitreehouses in various stages beginning in the early 90's. Neil met Sharon, who was born in South Africa in December 2003. Now married - they relish the opportunity to share this unique slice of the beautiful island of Kauai - a place which is such an incredible delight and privilege to call home.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 1990

Why The Owner chose Kalaheo

Neil bought the land because he loved it. While it has a rural feel, is beautiful, and is quiet (off a cul de sac), it is very central and 'civilization' is but a few minutes drive. Also, being in the hills it is lush and cooler,...the latter in summer...is an absolute blessing!

What makes this cabin unique

Ability to enjoy an 'authentic' Kauaian experience. Owner built and he lives on the property and will gladly talk story and share his ideas on must sees and do's. Surrounded by trees and abundant bird life...and yet within ten minutes you can be on the popular beaches of sunny Poipu.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This was the best vacation and staying here was an absolute joy! Neil told great stories and shared many things about the local scene that helped us a great deal. Wish we could have visited with Sharon. We will be back! Aloha! All our best
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 43

Why HomeAway

People4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

4.7
based on 28 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Romantic hide-away cabin in the trees
average rating of 4.714286 based on 71 reviews
Los Angeles, CA
5

Bugs? Are you kidding me? This is the tropics after all!!!

  • 5 of 5

If you are the type who prefers directions via GPS coordinates rather than street names and numbers, this is absolutely the place for you!

If you are looking for some boring, cookie cutter, surgically sterile 5 star beachfront condo, isolated away from nature, where your butler lays out your clothes for the day, move it along, nothing to see here. If, on the other hand, you enjoy listing to the sound of crickets and song birds all night and day, this is definitely the place for you.

All future guests need to realize you are staying smack dab in the middle of the jungle. Critters are all part of the experience. Neil and Sharon are great and take care of issues PROVIDED YOU TALK TO THEM FIRST WITHOUT WRITING BIASED REVIEWS!!! Damn it people, this is the jungle not some surgical room!

If you leave the lights on and all the doors open you invite all the flying creepy crawlies into your place no matter where you live. Neil and Sharon do a great job on using non toxic methods of controlling the pests.

My wife and I stayed 9 nights. Talk about a very unique and memorable experience. The outdoor shower was great! The loft bed is oh so comfortable. The only way you can get any closer to nature is to pitch a tent. It rained almost every night. What a wonderful sound. We enjoyed the song birds the entire time.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 7, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dennis and Debbie are the type of guests who go with the flow, but thankfully speak up when they have concerns or questions. I was struck by how able they were to drop bags on arrival, and spontaneously follow me to the annual orchid and art show in Hanapepe. (I was keen to attend to see the taiko drumming and Makana's slack key performance.) Except for the few times Debbie and Dennis came down to the main house or my little studio to access the internet, we hardly saw them. Thank you for choosing kauaitreehouses and for 'grocking' the unique setting and experience!
Portland,Oregon
5

quiet getaway in the trees

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at the tree house! The tree house was stocked with everything we needed and more. We had a wonderful time spending our evenings grilling and relaxing on the lanai. I loved listening to the sounds of the wind through the trees and all of the birds. Our only regret was we weren't able to stay longer!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 18, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mary, thanks for not only choosing kauaitreehouses, but for appreciating this unique spot, and wishing you could have stayed longer! We love it when this spot and the 'right' guests find each other. You definitely qualify and we hope to welcome you back to beautiful Kauai!
Canada
2

Cute Treehouse but TONNES OF BUGS!!!!!

  • 2 of 5

I was hesitating writing this bad review because the owner was extremely nice and friendly to us and I felt bad, however I want to ensure other visitors are aware of what the place is like before they book it especially for long durations.. When we arrived to the tree house we were amazed by how cute, unique rustic and awesome this treehouse was, the first two days were great and relaxing, Neil greeted us in the morning and he was very informative about the island and wanted to make sure we had everything we needed. Now to the bad side of the review.. On the third day my wife was is in the kitchen cleaning up dishes and she screeched when she saw a massive spider under the counter, it was the biggest spider I have ever seen, almost the same circumference of my hand. Not a huge deal, we scooped it up in a bin and let it outside. There were a bunch of little gecko's in the place as well, they are kind of cute also no big deal. Note: During the stay I slept on couch and my wife upstairs in the bed because we are use to king size bed and couldn't sleep otherwise. So, during that night, at 2AM I was awoken by another screech from wife, a cockroach had fallen from the rafters of the ceiling onto her head, she quickly swatted it away and turned on the light, and spotted a second cockroach on the bed and another big spider on the wall beside bed. My wife ran downstairs and said we had to leave, it was 2am and I didn't want to sleep in the rental car which was our only other option. I looked around the place and found other smaller spiders and a dead cockroach by the couch. We packed our bags after the 2am incident and were wondering what to do next, we decided to try and sleep it out on couch together until early morning, we skipped breakfast and drove away, we were so glad to be out that place. I should have paid more attention to Charla D's review from November 2014 but was distracted from the other 24 excellent reviews.. I hope my review helps others from making the same mistake. However, if you don't mind these bugs, than this place will be nice for you.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 24, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing kauaitreehouse's cabin, and for taking the time to post feedback. We're sorry that your stay ended badly: what a pity you didn't let us know in person, so we could do something immediately. Fortunately, there are no dangerous snakes, but we do live in the tropics, and and even top paying hotels deal with ants, geckos, centipedes and cockroaches. We try not to use toxic substances to keep the critters away, but unfortunately with feedback like this, we are forced to go that route. It is our intention to ensure guests enjoy this unique setting from which to explore beautiful Kauai, and we are disappointed that yours was not what you had expected.
2

Loved it. Then hated it.

  • 2 of 5

I hesitated writing this review because my BF and I are torn about the place. I've decided to write it because I wish I had been provided this info when deciding where to stay. We recently stayed at the treehouse during our week long vacation. We arrived and immediately felt at home in the cute little cabin in the trees. We found it easily with the instructions we were given. In fact, the first few days were pretty good. Loved the outdoor shower, the hammock... The privacy. We used the boogie boards, chairs and cooler at the various beaches - so that was really nice. We had no power for a day, listened to some nearby construction occasionally and were woken up by the roosters crowing early each morning - none of this was a big deal. However.... Things changed for the worse around day 4. That was when the bugs seemed to really come out and I'm not sure why - we kept the place tidy, had limited food in the house and cleaned every morning. I understand that the place is meant to be rustic and that there are lots of bugs in Hawaii. I get that. However, when they interfere with ones health and sanity, there's a problem. We were eaten by insects at night by tiny aphid-like bugs because they were able to get through the screens on the windows. We'd wake up covered in welts from the bug bites. The mosquitos and giant spiders in the house weren't a huge deal either. However, laying down in bed and spotting a cockroach in the bedding I pulled the comforter over me was absolutely terrifying. This was the breaking point for me. Unfortunately, this wasn't the only run- in with cockroaches during our stay. In retrospect I wish we had booked elsewhere. I'm disappointed our trip was spoiled by this experience - we will be definitely staying elsewhere upon our return to Kauai. If you decide to stay here we recommend you bring a tent to set up inside so at least you can get a good night's sleep.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 24, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks to a future guest we were led to see this review. Belatedly, we thank you for including all the things you loved until day 4, and for highlighting that the bugs then became an issue for you. Living in the tropics means warm weather and incredible beauty, but it also means we deal with mosquitoes, geckos, spiders and cockroaches. Air conditioned hotels, and condos (with an active spraying of toxic chemicals policy) helps to keep the critters out, and at bay; but even they contend with guests, who are used to more urban environments. In our modern, western world we feel it normal to kill other critters that share the planet with us; here at kauaitreehouses we try to live in harmony with them (while still encouraging them to stay outdoors with screens etc). With feedback of this nature, we are forced to take a more toxic route of keeping the critters out. We're grateful for reviews like this that help potential guests determine whether this is a good match for them and the experience they are looking forward to enjoying.
Georgia
5

We felt extremely welcomed!

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by the owner and shown all the amenities. He and his wife are extremely friendly and likable people! They have thought through everything, down to the small details.

It has a very welcoming and cozy feeling. The outdoor shower is very romantic and always warm. The bedding was clean and we had all our essential towels. The kitchenette is perfect for a short stay.

It was a little more like "camping" than I had expected (ie. a few bugs and mosquitoes here and there) but he provided bug spray and candles to counter those minor annoyances.

Overall, the experience was incredible! I would return in a heartbeat. We went for the second week of our honeymoon and there was an obvious difference from our stay in the resort for the first week. It was extremely peaceful and relaxing.

All I can say is, "thank you for your hospitality!"

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: One of the joys of living on a beautiful island up here in the trees is being able to meet wonderful young people embarking on a new chapter of married life - you were a particularly special couple and we wish you much happiness and many enriching and memorable times together! Thank you for staying with us - you are so very welcome back at any time, and perhaps next time you'll try our oceanview unit over on Puu Road
5

Wonderful owners

  • 5 of 5

The owners are terrific people who really want their guests to have a wonderful visit. I came up against a last minute paperwork complication getting a car and only discovered the problem the day before our flight. Neil found out and called me in the middle of the night to say that he was picking us up at the airport. He helped me find a vehicle and saved us a couple hundred dollars we would have lost on the activities we had scheduled (No four star Hotel concierge ever went to those lengths to help us out of a bind.) They checked in with us occasionally to make sure we had what we needed, and Sharon was great with little maps to help us find the specialty food store for my 16 year old son. Staying in this rustic and charming tree house was a dream come true for my son, and yes...the outdoor shower is steamy and wonderful! Spent two full weeks at this location and will do so again if we visit Kauai. We found the location to be ideal because it is higher in elevation and therefore cooler during the day when we needed a brief respite from our adventures. We visited so many beaches, and per Niel's recommendation took a trip up to Anini beach on our last day for snorkeling (June 16). BEST we had seen within a protected reef and while surface snorkeling only. Thank you helping us get the ball rolling on our fantastic vacation full of adventures! We will never forget you.Y&A

  • Review Submitted: Jun 22, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Some guests touch your heart in a special way. What a pleasure to host you! You have a wonderful disposition and are welcome back any time.

Location

Nearest Airport
14 Miles
Lihue
Nearest Beach
6.6 Miles
Salt Ponds
Car: necessary

Ten minute drive to snorkel catamaran cruises to beautiful Na Pali /dolphins and whales; outstanding views and hiking in the Waimea Canyon and Kokee forest; mountain tubing, zip lining, horse-riding, waterfalls, golf, river kiyaking, swimming, surfing at best beaches

Photos

Prices & Availability

From $123 Nightly

Prices for this holiday cabin in Kalaheo, Kauai

Rental Basis:
per property
Prices quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$448
for 3 nights
From
$123
$790
$2,139
 

Additional pricing information

cleaning fee $80
Tax Rate 3.0%
Notes Refunds, minus fees of $100, are possible if guests have to cancel and we re-rent the unit during the period guests booked.

Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Kalaheo in Kauai

Property Type:
  • cabin
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1) Queen bed with 400 thread cotton sheets and down duvet, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen convertible bed in living area
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Cabin set in trees, secluded and has private outdoor shower

Partner Offers

europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Other holiday rentals

Weekly From £392
3 night min stay
  • 1 Bedroom,
  • 1 Bathroom,
  • Sleeps 2

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote