Beautiful Location but NO Air Conditioning
As you will see from other reviews this property is in a beautiful location with great views. Unfortunately we were there from September 14th to the 17th 2013 and the temperature was in the mid to upper 80's and the condo has no air conditioning, which really made the place unbearable. We tried to be gone all day to avoid the heat, but even at night with the fans pointed right at us we were all very uncomfortable, and unfortunately the heat took it's toll on us by the time we left. We were never so happy to see AC again as we were when we arrived at our other VRBO rental in Maui. I suppose it was my mistake for not asking about the AC, but the owner should also make sure to point this out when renting the unit during the summer months, instead we received apologies when checking us into the unit. I would not recommend this place if you are visiting in the summer when it is hot. If you are coming at a time when the temperatures are in the 60's or low 70's it is probably quite nice.
Owner's Response: On the most beautiful island on earth, and directly oceanfront, we are spoiled to have such a wonderful home to share with our guests. We do not have air conditioning (the same goes for almost every direct oceanfront unit on Kauai) for a couple of reasons. First, if you have a whole bunch of air conditioning condensers running, it would spoil the beautiful sound of the ocean and scare off the wildlife that we are so fortunate to see every day. Second, there are only a handful of days every couple of years that are hot enough to even warrant having a/c. Had we been made aware of the concern during the stay, we would have been glad to have brought in additional fans as well as provided some suggestions to ensure that the guests were comfortable, even during the unusually warm week that we had. We have never had a complaint about the heat posted during our 7 years of ownership and we are committed to making sure that our guests have a wonderful and memorable experience and come back year after year (many of our guests book a year ahead and come every year!), but unless we are made aware of a concern during the stay, we can't make it right, no matter how committed we are to doing so.
Helpful votes: 2/3
Did you find this review helpful?