HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Ideal Location - Secure Parking. Check-in..Chill-out.."YOU-time" begins as you step through the door - 28 County House, sleeps 6

P Simmons

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Minimum Stay 0 - 5 nights

Contact the Owner

P Simmons

Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
6 April, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Ideal Location - Secure Parking. Check-in..Chill-out.."YOU-time" begins as you step through the door - 28 County House, sleeps 6

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Minimum Stay 0 - 5 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday apartment in York - City-chic apartments~ 4-6 people Pure luxury in the heart of York~It's You-time!

NOW for 2015 - newly refurbished 5* self-catering luxury in the heart of York. Exceptional, huge 2 & 3 bedroom self-catering accommodation for the discerning guest. Centrally situated on the 1st floor of the grand, historic County House, nos 28 (3 bed, 1 bath,1 ensuite) and 29 (2 bed, 1 bath) offer the perfect base to explore and enjoy all that York offers plus security-gated parking. Superbly furnished, equipped & maintained ~ total relaxation and refreshment awaits at the end of a busy day!

Pure luxury with lots and lots of space. Centrally situated, our exceptional front-facing, 1st-floor, very large apartments are fitted, equipped & maintained to the very highest standards for our guests' comfort and relaxation. Complete with modern, high quality furnishings and decor and with luxurious bed-linen and towels, a warm welcome awaits you. Fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. No 28 offers a welcoming entrance hall, 3 spacious bedrooms, 1 en-suite shower room, luxury family bathroom with de-luxe shower over, open-plan living, dining-room, kitchen. No 29 offers 2 bedrooms, luxury family shower-room, spacious lounge and balconied mezzanine dining-room and kitchen with great views. Master bedrooms have King-sized beds whilst others have Super-king, King or single beds according to guests' preference. Located very close to York city centre in a quiet, gated complex with the benefit of private, security-gated parking for 1 car per apartment. Historic York is a major tourist city with many attractions and festivals. The Yorkshire Dales, Moors and coastal resorts such as Whitby, Filey and Scarborough are all easily accessible by car or train. Ideal for families, couples, small groups of friends. There really is something for everyone ~ and 28 & 29 County House offer the perfect base from which to explore.

More Details

Details for holiday apartment 28 County House, sleeps 6, 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, 1 Bathroom

"You-time" begins when you step through the door! Stunning self-catering accommodation in a listed, historic building in the heart of York. Secure car-park with allocated space for each apartment. "A house in a house" one young guest told us ... and so it is. Following recent refurbishment it offers 3 bedrooms (1 with en-suite facilities) spread out across the upper level of this 1st floor apartment whilst downstairs guests enjoy a large entrance hall leading to the stairs, family bathroom with shower, bedroom 3 and finally the spacious, fully equipped open-plan lounge,dining-room and kitchen. Beautifully equipped and maintained to the highest standards for our discerning guests' comfort and relaxation everything is here to make you feel most welcome. Step outside, leaving your car safely parked you can soon join in the many activities - festivals, museums, restaurants, river cruises, shopping offered in York- it's just a 5 minute walk to the Minster! Plus a handy supermarket
P Simmons (Owner)
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
6 April, 2015

Why HomeAway

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Minimum Stay 0 - 5 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

4.4
based on 7 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
28 County House, sleeps 6
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews
East Midlands
5

Great location and accomadation

  • 5 of 5

3 minutes walk from the city wall, 6 mins from the Minster and shops, a great place to stay. The building is very grand which adds to the experience. Secure parking is welcome when staying in a city centre location. We will definitely stay again.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 20, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review - we are so pleased that you had a great time in York and enjoyed staying in our lovely apartment. It most certainly is a beautiful building and ideally located for holidays. We strive to maintain our highest standards to meet the expectations of our discerning guests and we would love to welcome you and your family back anytime.
United Kingdom
1

Unsuitable for families OR 2 couples

  • 1 of 5

This properties (28&29) are misrepresented to some extent. They're storage heaters throughout and need some updating, not suitable for more than one couple unless you do not require privacy, not family friendly or accessible for those with mobility issues and are a bit dirty and could do with a freshen up. The mezzanine bedrooms aren't mezzanine as you would expect. The high ceilings of this period property have been split in two by a floor which creates a short ceiling height. We measured that the living room TV was 1.5m from the bed of the two singles on the floor above. The children could look through the railings and watch TV. The living room is directly below and there is NOTHING to barrier the noise. We were trapped in our own home so to speak as we couldn't watch TV once our children (or friends possibly in other people's cases) had gone to bed. In apartment 29, you looked down straight in to the double bedroom below. Quite literally you could hear everything that was occurring above and below, be it some one turning, a cough or getting up to go to the loo which is downstairs. It is marginally better than being on bunk beds. In flat 28, the kitchen and dining area is entirely open to the bedroom above. My brother did tell the owner (who is fantastically charming and lovely) that he wasn't a) used to sleeping with a fridge freezer in his bedroom (it was just below his bed) and it was so ridiculously noisy. It kept him and his wife up all night. Upon hearing the news, the owner simply apologised. In flat 29, the shower didn't drain, the sink plug didn't lift and so we had to cup the water out, the water didn't heat and you got a 6 minute shower, in flat 28 the water suffered the same issue. There was a bath ( in flat 28 only) which had a plug that didn't fit and so the water drained in minutes (wish we had that problem with the shower n flat 29). The owners (despite describing the accommodation as 5*) didn't make all the beds up. Our family was comprised of 2 ad, 1 ch and 1 cot - we had paid full price for a 2 single and 1 double 5*apt. I didn't think for second that all the beds would not be made up. We had a poorly boy with no bedding to sleep next to him. In addition there wasn't so much as a mini bottle of body wash in either apt. but there was a a brownish dated plastic bathmat and something to clean the shower screen with. The kitchens were really old and dirty, the fridge freezer in flat 29 didn't work properly and the lift worked sometimes.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 29, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review – albeit very surprising considering other reviews - but it’s always good to listen to what our guests say however I do assure you that both apartments were fully serviced to our exacting standards prior to your arrival and everything was working correctly. The apartments do have different layouts – as was explained – but you can see from earlier reviews that other guests have been extremely satisfied. You mentioned one or two irritating failings which somehow seem to have occurred during your visit – as you brought to our attention – and these have now been attended to by professional trades. Perhaps we should think about an additional TV and will get onto this. We always strive to “go the extra mile” to ensure guests have the best time possible during their visit and in your case provided extra items and accommodated one extra child with no additional cost to yourselves – we even provided named gifts under the Christmas trees for the five children! It is regrettable that the children were unwell when you arrived and no doubt that would spoil things for you all. We are disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your visit.
Derbyshire
5

Fabulous Apartment

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a long weekend to start our Christmas shopping and York did not disappoint. It was a brilliant weekend and the apartment was perfect. It takes 1 minute to walk to Monkgate. The apartment was spotless and Pauline made us very welcome. I would recommend anyone to stay here. It is 5 star accomodation.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 2, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, so pleased to hear that all was good for you and thanks for looking after everything too. York certainly seems to have everything for everyone - and our lovely apartments are just so conveniently situated with private FREE parking and even a supermarket virtually on the doorstep! Hope to see you another time if possible.
South Lanarkshire
5

First class apartment

  • 5 of 5

Apartments were well appointed, very clean and 5 minutes from the Minster and the centre of York. Having the secure car park was an added bonus. We had a wonderful family break and Pauline made us all so welcome. We will be staying here again on our next visit to York.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 18, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
West Yorkshire
5

Fantastic Weekend

  • 5 of 5

My sister and I decided on the spur of the moment to visit the York Food & Drink Festival. We wanted somewhere close to the centre so we could walk in and participate in the event. This location was perfect. It is literally 5 minutes from the Minster and all York has to offer. Secure parking meant we could leave the car safely all weekend. The apartment is wonderful with the mezzanine bedrooms and a fully appointed kitchen. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 3, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you ladies. You were most complimentary when you first arrived at the apartment and have affirmed this with your review. We believe it is a great location - with peace & quiet yet "on the doorstep" of the city! So very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the comfort and amenities of our lovely apartment. Thank you for recommending us.
Hertfordshire
5

A Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

This was our first visit to York but we wanted to have the flexibility of self catering within walking distance of the city centre but it also had to have its own parking so we could use the car for trips into the surrounding area. Well this apartment provided everything we needed. A few minutes walk into the city yet in a very quiet area with secure car parking. There was a large store just round the corner which provided everything we needed. We had a fantastic week in what is superbly appointed accommodation which was very comfortable. This plus the warm welcome from Pauline ensures that we will be making a return visit in the future. We thoroughly recommend this apartment.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you both so much for this very encouraging review. It is great to know that our guests have everything they need to ensure their holiday is the best it could be! There is so much to do and see in and around York that you do need comfortable accommodation at the end of the day to be able to relax and recharge the batteries for further exploring. We look forward to welcoming you for a return visit whenever you would like to come.

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

From £875 Weekly

Prices for this holiday apartment in York, North Yorkshire

Rental Basis:
Prices quoted in:
British Pound
Convert Currency
Rental Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Prices
1 Mar 2015 - 30 Jun 2015
3 night minimum stay
£945
 
 
Prices
1 Jul 2015 - 30 Sep 2015
3 night minimum stay
£980
 
 
Prices
1 Oct 2015 - 30 Nov 2015
3 night minimum stay
£945
 
 
Prices
1 Dec 2015 - 17 Dec 2015
5 night minimum stay
£980
 
 
Prices
18 Dec 2015 - 3 Jan 2016
3 night minimum stay
£1,015
 
 
Prices
4 Jan 2016 - 29 Feb 2016
0 night minimum stay
£875
 
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in York in North Yorkshire

Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Recently refurbished modern bathroom with large shower area with dual shower-heads, wash-basin and toilet. Fully tiled, heated towel rail and underfloor heating. Towels and toiletries are provided to the guests.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom:Large room, luxurious King-size bed, high quality pillows & duvet with high thread-count soft, white bed-linen. Dressing-table, walk-in wardrobe. Bedroom 2:Galleried, mezzanine room. Luxury King/2 single beds, wardrobe, dressing table etc.
Internet Access:
  • Internet

Partner Offers

europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote