HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

CHECK-IN ... CHILL-OUT .... "YOU-TIME" BEGINS WHEN YOU STEP THROUGH THE DOOR. ENJOY!

P Simmons

Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
People4
Bedrooms 2

Contact the Owner

P Simmons

Speaks English
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

CHECK-IN ... CHILL-OUT .... "YOU-TIME" BEGINS WHEN YOU STEP THROUGH THE DOOR. ENJOY!

People4
Bedrooms 2

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in York - Stunning York Apartment for 4 people in magnificent historic building.5 minutes walk to citycentre

Superbly furnished and equipped self-catering apartment to sleep 4 persons. Ideally located, just 5 minutes walk to the heart of York in the historic, listed County House. Each apartment comprises 2 bedrooms (1 king, 1 King/twin), large living area and kitchen/dining-room. Situated on the 1st floor, there is also a security-gated car park. Maintained throughout to 5* standard for guests' comfort with all the furnishings & cooking equipment etc one would expect. Easy access to York attractions.

1st-floor 2 bedroom apartment, fitted, equipped & maintained to the highest standards for your comfort and relaxation. Modern, high quality furnishings and decor with luxurious bed-linen and towels. Fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. Located close to York city centre in a quiet, gated complex with the benefit of private, security-gated parking. Historic York is a major tourist city with many attractions and festivals. The Yorkshire Dales, Moors and coastal resorts such as Whitby, Filey and Scarborough are all easily accessible by car or train.

Details for holiday apartment 28 County House, 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4

"You-time" begins when you step through the door! Stunning self-catering accommodation in a listed, historic building in the heart of York. Secure car-park with allocated space for each apartment. "A house in a house" one young guest told us ... and so it is. 2 mezzanine bedrooms spread out across the upper area of this 1st floor apartment whilst downstairs guests enjoy a large entrance hall leading to the stairs, bathroom, spacious lounge and huge kitchen/dining-room. All equipped and maintained to the highest standards for our guests' comfort and relaxation.
P Simmons (Owner)
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English

Why HomeAway

People4
Bedrooms 2
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

4.3
based on 6 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
28 County House
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
business
28 County House
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p129146o
+44 -07703529089
York North Yorkshire
United Kingdom
1

Unsuitable for families OR 2 couples

  • 1 out of 5
This properties (28&29) are misrepresented to some extent. They're storage heaters throughout and need some updating, not suitable for more than one couple unless you do not require privacy, not family friendly or accessible for those with mobility issues and are a bit dirty and could do with a freshen up. The mezzanine bedrooms aren't mezzanine as you would expect. The high ceilings of this period property have been split in two by a floor which creates a short ceiling height. We measured that the living room TV was 1.5m from the bed of the two singles on the floor above. The children could look through the railings and watch TV. The living room is directly below and there is NOTHING to barrier the noise. We were trapped in our own home so to speak as we couldn't watch TV once our children (or friends possibly in other people's cases) had gone to bed. In apartment 29, you looked down straight in to the double bedroom below. Quite literally you could hear everything that was occurring above and below, be it some one turning, a cough or getting up to go to the loo which is downstairs. It is marginally better than being on bunk beds. In flat 28, the kitchen and dining area is entirely open to the bedroom above. My brother did tell the owner (who is fantastically charming and lovely) that he wasn't a) used to sleeping with a fridge freezer in his bedroom (it was just below his bed) and it was so ridiculously noisy. It kept him and his wife up all night. Upon hearing the news, the owner simply apologised. In flat 29, the shower didn't drain, the sink plug didn't lift and so we had to cup the water out, the water didn't heat and you got a 6 minute shower, in flat 28 the water suffered the same issue. There was a bath ( in flat 28 only) which had a plug that didn't fit and so the water drained in minutes (wish we had that problem with the shower n flat 29). The owners (despite describing the accommodation as 5*) didn't make all the beds up. Our family was comprised of 2 ad, 1 ch and 1 cot - we had paid full price for a 2 single and 1 double 5*apt. I didn't think for second that all the beds would not be made up. We had a poorly boy with no bedding to sleep next to him. In addition there wasn't so much as a mini bottle of body wash in either apt. but there was a a brownish dated plastic bathmat and something to clean the shower screen with. The kitchens were really old and dirty, the fridge freezer in flat 29 didn't work properly and the lift worked sometimes.
  • Review Submitted: 29-Dec-2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review – albeit very surprising considering other reviews - but it’s always good to listen to what our guests say however I do assure you that both apartments were fully serviced to our exacting standards prior to your arrival and everything was working correctly. The apartments do have different layouts – as was explained – but you can see from earlier reviews that other guests have been extremely satisfied.
You mentioned one or two irritating failings which somehow seem to have occurred during your visit – as you brought to our attention – and these have now been attended to by professional trades. Perhaps we should think about an additional TV and will get onto this. We always strive to “go the extra mile” to ensure guests have the best time possible during their visit and in your case provided extra items and accommodated one extra child with no additional cost to yourselves – we even provided named gifts under the Christmas trees for the five children! It is regrettable that the children were unwell when you arrived and no doubt that would spoil things for you all. We are disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your visit.
business
28 County House
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p129146o
+44 -07703529089
York North Yorkshire
Derbyshire
5

Fabulous Apartment

  • 5 out of 5
We stayed for a long weekend to start our Christmas shopping and York did not disappoint. It was a brilliant weekend and the apartment was perfect. It takes 1 minute to walk to Monkgate. The apartment was spotless and Pauline made us very welcome. I would recommend anyone to stay here. It is 5 star accomodation.
  • Review Submitted: 02-Dec-2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, so pleased to hear that all was good for you and thanks for looking after everything too. York certainly seems to have everything for everyone - and our lovely apartments are just so conveniently situated with private FREE parking and even a supermarket virtually on the doorstep! Hope to see you another time if possible.
business
28 County House
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p129146o
+44 -07703529089
York North Yorkshire
South Lanarkshire
5

First class apartment

  • 5 out of 5
Apartments were well appointed, very clean and 5 minutes from the Minster and the centre of York. Having the secure car park was an added bonus. We had a wonderful family break and Pauline made us all so welcome. We will be staying here again on our next visit to York.
  • Review Submitted: 18-Oct-2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
28 County House
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p129146o
+44 -07703529089
York North Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
5

Fantastic Weekend

  • 5 out of 5
My sister and I decided on the spur of the moment to visit the York Food & Drink Festival. We wanted somewhere close to the centre so we could walk in and participate in the event. This location was perfect. It is literally 5 minutes from the Minster and all York has to offer. Secure parking meant we could leave the car safely all weekend. The apartment is wonderful with the mezzanine bedrooms and a fully appointed kitchen. Would definitely recommend this place.
  • Review Submitted: 03-Oct-2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you ladies. You were most complimentary when you first arrived at the apartment and have affirmed this with your review. We believe it is a great location - with peace & quiet yet "on the doorstep" of the city! So very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the comfort and amenities of our lovely apartment. Thank you for recommending us.
business
28 County House
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p129146o
+44 -07703529089
York North Yorkshire
Hertfordshire
5

A Great Place to Stay

  • 5 out of 5
This was our first visit to York but we wanted to have the flexibility of self catering within walking distance of the city centre but it also had to have its own parking so we could use the car for trips into the surrounding area. Well this apartment provided everything we needed. A few minutes walk into the city yet in a very quiet area with secure car parking. There was a large store just round the corner which provided everything we needed. We had a fantastic week in what is superbly appointed accommodation which was very comfortable. This plus the warm welcome from Pauline ensures that we will be making a return visit in the future. We thoroughly recommend this apartment.
  • Review Submitted: 18-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you both so much for this very encouraging review. It is great to know that our guests have everything they need to ensure their holiday is the best it could be! There is so much to do and see in and around York that you do need comfortable accommodation at the end of the day to be able to relax and recharge the batteries for further exploring. We look forward to welcoming you for a return visit whenever you would like to come.
business
28 County House
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p129146o
+44 -07703529089
York North Yorkshire
United Kingdom
5

Perfect spot.

  • 5 out of 5
We stayed here while visiting the UK. The apartment was simply perfect. Everything we needed and a fantastic location. Quiet and peaceful in the apartment yet 5 a minute walk to the centre of magnificent York. All the restaurants and attractions you could want. Thank you to the owners for making this the highlight of our stay.
  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Well, thanks guys - we are so pleased you had such a great time in York and enjoyed the tranquility, comfort and convenience provided by our stunning apartment at County House. Very proud to be "the highlight of your stay" - what a privilege. We don't think self-catering accommodation can come much better than this, but your comments help others to believe it too! Thank you. Pauline & Peter

Location

Photos

Rates & Availability

From £630 Weekly

Rental rates for this holiday apartment in York, North Yorkshire

Rental Basis:
Rental rates quoted in:
British Pound
Convert Currency
Rental Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Rate
 
Prices
2 Jan 2015 - 12 Feb 2015
0 night minimum stay
£630
 
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in York in North Yorkshire

Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedroom:Large room, luxurious King-size bed, high quality pillows & duvet with high thread-count soft, white bed-linen. Dressing-table, walk-in wardrobe. Bedroom 2:Galleried, mezzanine room. Luxury King/2 single beds, wardrobe, dressing table etc.
Internet Access:
  • Internet
europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote