We loved almost everything about Los chivos .... my husband and I rented the top level 1 bedroom. The kitchen is spacious and well equipped. If you plan to prepare and cook your meals it is a great set up. The views are incredible and the king size bed is very comfortable. There are ceiling fans in every room including the bathroom, so there was always a lovely breeze throughout the house. There is a gas grill on the outside deck. The house has great books and the owners have left an invaluable book of information regarding the island which we found very useful. Renee, the house manager, was quick to respond to any questions or problems we had during our 6 day stay at Los chivos. We did have a problem with the gas grill, which was very dirty when we arrived. By the 3rd night it wouldn't light. The next day Renee had someone come to clean it and it did work the following night but on our final night, after purchasing fresh meat and fish, the grill would not start so we had to cook it stovetop inside. The stove in the kitchen is dated and does not light easily so the finished meal was not quite as good as it could've been. If grilling outdoors is important to you, I advise that you inquire if the grill has been cleaned and tested prior to your arrival.
The kitchen and bath are pretty clean but the kitchen stove/oven could definitely use an upgrade. There is a laundry room but it's down a spiral outdoor staircase and then below the driveway - so it's a bit of a haul. Other than that, I would say that for the price the place is great.
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Casa Dos Chivos - we sincerely appreciate your feedback and take our guests' comments very seriously--as we've often stated, our goal is for every visitor at Casa Dos Chivos to have a truly wonderful experience. Renee did get someone to inspect the grill the day after you contacted her and he reported to her that he found it clean and in good working order. After you left Renee had no difficulty lighting the grill nor did the guests that followed you report any problems. We're sorry you had difficulty with the grill and we'll be sure it remains in good working order for future guests. Thanks again for your nice comments.
Did you find this review helpful?