HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

THE WHITE HOUSE: The exact white point to explore the city and relax

IGNACIO TORRENS

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Italian
People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

IGNACIO TORRENS

Member since: 2010
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Italian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 March, 2015
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

THE WHITE HOUSE: The exact white point to explore the city and relax

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in Dreta de l'Eixample - THE WHITE HOUSE

The White House is a charming typical housing 'Eixample' of Barcelona.

The White House is a charming typical housing 'Eixample' of Barcelona.

It has a lovely light, very clear and clean ... HENCE your name: THE WHITE HOUSE.

The house is privileged location: in the Eixample neighborhood of only 30 meters from Rambla Catalunya and Paseo Gracia, The most important and touristic avenue of the city: here is the Casa Batllo and La Pedrera Gaudí artist.

Its has 75 m2. 2 bedrooms, 1st with 1 double bed. 2nd witch 2 Single bed, 1 sofa double-bed (total of 6 beds), 1 bathroom, a large and spacious living room, perfect for 6 people, with your dining room, modern cuisine, a gallery and a terrace.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
IGNACIO TORRENS (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Italian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 March, 2015

Why IGNACIO TORRENS chose Dreta de l'Eixample

The White House is a newly opened home where all the furniture and details are new, and selected by prestigious professional decorator, gladly for people who live to enjoy their stay and the opportunity to premiere all.

What makes this apartment unique

Living in The White House is having an opportunity of living in a romance, of

ideal way to understand the citizens of Barcelona, or in family or friends and discover the city on foot, visiting all tourist concerns and the best shops and restaurants in the best neighborhood in Barcelona.

Why HomeAway

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

4
based on 8 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
THE WHITE HOUSE: The exact white point to explore the city and relax
average rating of 4.0 based on 9 reviews
1

Dishonest Manager/Owner

  • 1 of 5

This review is about the manager of this apartment, not the apartment itself.

I was booking for the Mobile World Congress, which is the busiest week for travel to Barcelona with over 90,000 attendees, so accommodation is very hard to find. I made my reservation on January 9 2015 and took 4 frustrating days to complete the reservation ~ many issues with incorrect amount on payment request. Then, much to my alarm, I unexpectedly received notice of full payment refund twelve days prior to arrival followed by vague email indicating apartment was no longer available due to technical issues requiring an investigation of the apartment. This put me in an incredibly difficult position given the fact that it would now be virtually impossible to find accommodation at such short notice. I responded to Ignacio, the manager, that this short notice and unacceptable given that we had spent considerable money on non-refundable flights and conference registration fees. Ignacio indicated this was beyond his control because it was dependent on Barcelona town hall and we should find other accommodation ~ during the busiest week of the year in Barcelona! After investigation, I became very suspicious that Ignacio had in fact rented the apartment for more money and simply cancelled my booking at the last minute.

- I cannot PROVE that Ignacio did this, and I am sure he will respond to this review saying that the “inspection” was beyond his control and he was harmed as well as me. So here are the facts and I will let you draw your own conclusions:

Fact 1: When he cancelled the reservation I noticed that the calendar for the apartment was never updated to block of the week that I had rented, so he would have been receiving numerous requests from other people attending the conference.

Fact 2: I told him I wanted to see some documentation showing that there was indeed an inspection. He never responded to this request.

Fact 3: I told him that I wanted to see the apartment when I was in Barcelona to confirm that it was in fact empty and not rented to another traveler. He never responded to this request either.

Fact 4: It has now been 11 days since my last request and still no response.

As I said, I cannot prove that I was double crossed, but the facts certainly indicate that it is highly likely I was cheated. At the very least, the manager is totally unprofessional and unresponsive. And likely very dishonest as well.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 11, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Vincent It is not possible to reserve an apartment for 8 persons when his maximum capacity it are 6 persons. You I confirm this fact when you paid his stay for 4 persons and one week before coming you reported to me that you were 8 persons. For this motive his reservation was cancelled: for not fulfilling the regulation, fulfilling the contract of agreed rent. The Town hall of Barcelona has prohibited the apartments tourist lodge more persons who exceed his maximum capacity. Our company fulfills the regulation of the tourist apartments of Barcelona and it has the right of admission, and for it to cancel a reservation when it does not fulfill the agreed. This it was his case unfortunately. In the web it informs that for consular the availability of the apartment must contact before the owner, because the calendars are not updated for managing many apartments in several international webs. Best regards THE WHITE HOUSE
New York, NY
2

Nice apartment in convenient area, but extraordinarily loud

  • 2 of 5

The White House is a small, pleasantly decorated apartment just a few blocks from Passeig de Gracia in the heart of L'Example. The master bedroom and bathroom were nice enough, but what the pictures don't show is that the apartment is on the second floor and is at the intersection of 2 VERY busy streets with 4 active lanes of traffic each (and they seem to be favored by emergency service vehicles). In addition, the windows are pretty thin, so the apartment is not just loud, it's extraordinarily loud. Being from New York, I am used to traffic noise, but frankly this apartment was so loud, I had to leave a day early as I just could never get to sleep. To add insult to injury, the large windows have nothing more than thin sheer curtains, so even in the dead of night, it stays light in the bedroom, and if you WERE to have been able to fall asleep despite the noise, the light will surely wake you at dawn!

I tried to seek refuge in the second bedroom, which is really more of closet in that it is about 7' wide, but since the only window it has opens to the stairwell of the building, that was no better, as you could both hear the street noise, as well as the neighbors coming back at all hours until 5AM.

I was also disappointed in the bedding, as I have never felt pillows so uncomfortable, and they felt like couch cushions that were way too thick to be usable. Though I admit that I am not the best sleeper, I've never met anyone comfortable sleeping with their head elevated so far off the mattress by such a hard pillow. It would also be nice if the host provided more than 2 towels and 2 hand towels, and I was surprised that there was not even a bath mat, especially since the shower has no door, so it is impossible to shower without getting a good amount of the floor wet!

Lastly, I'd warn would-be renters that the host will ask you to sign a contract with additional terms, which he will only reveal to you AFTER you paid, putting you in the very uncomfortable position of having to agree to terms that you've never seen before, or risk forfeiting what you've paid. Although the rental terms worked out in the end (after extensive edits), and I received my security deposit back, I feel strongly that the requirement and the additional terms of the contract should have been disclosed BEFORE payment was solicited.

In any event, if you can sleep like the dead, then you may enjoy the White House, and I was pleased that it had a washer and a fridge.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 11, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Brad First you admitted me that you have insomnia. I recommended to you another higher apartment in the same area because the neighborhood of the eixample they are streets with a lot of traffic to the being the downtown. How is it going to sleep perfectly if it has serious problems to sleep? You did not accept my offer because he liked the select apartment and it was cheaper than another apartment. All the windows have double crystal and with curtains. The Contract of rent is quite correct. It is normal that there is requested a safety warehouse that was returned to him one day before by his early exit of the apartment. Probably is he a bit distrustful you? The pillows are of good quality, are of latex. He was arranging of others thinner pillows in the cupboard. The majority of my guests have been very grateful and happy in his stay in The White House. Best regards Ignacio Torrens THE WHITE HOUSE
4

Light and Airy Apartment in a Good Location

  • 4 of 5

We recently stayed at the White House for six nights. It is a bright and airy apartment with very comfortable sofas for relaxing and a large table in the modern kitchen area which includes a toaster, microwave, dishwasher, new range and washer/dryer. Though the landlord took the time to explain them all to us when we arrived,we only used the microwave and a teakettle, All the appliances seem brand new and in good working order.

The apartment is well-situated in the Eixample for visiting much of the most important moderniste architecture. Most buildings are only a short walk away.(Important tourist note: reserve entrance to these building in advance on line to avoid very long waits)

The neighborhood has several small markets and a large city market, Mercat Concepcio, 1 1/2 blocks away which has a supermarket downstairs in addition to the vendors in the main market. Around the corner is J. Murria, a very old, beautiful, exceptional delicatessen. There are many small restaurants in the neighborhood, including a pizzeria around the corner and an interesting restaurant in the next block, Can Cargol, which features snails (cargol), but has many other items on the menu.

The landlord is trustworthy and can be counted on to greet you and check you out for your departure on time.

Linda Gilbert

Sausalito, California

  • Review Submitted: Oct 18, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Linda Thank you very much for your comment of your stay in The White House of Barcelona, writing all the small and important details of the apartment and of the neighborhood! I am very happy that your stay was since your you were wishing and I wait to return to meet in The White House next year! Best regads Ignacio Torrens THE WHITE HOUSE
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was fantastic. Loved the location. It was near Concepcion market, Gaudi apartment and Casa Batillo and lots of restaurants. Ignacio was very helpful and gave us great recommendations to restaurants and beach locations. The apartment was perfect for cooking and relaxing after a long day of walking. The decor was perfect and one felt at home. I recommend it for your next visit to Barcelona.

jacky m

  • Review Submitted: Oct 4, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jacky Thank you very much for your description of The White House, and the perfect location to get to know Barcelona on foot and have all the amenities of everyday I'm glad that the decoration of the apartment you really like (it is a prestigious interior decorator) and make you feel at home I hope you come back again! Thank you very much for everything ! Best wishes Ignacio Torrens THE WHITE HOUSE
5

Expectations fulfilled

  • 5 of 5

Overall, we had a great stay in the apartment and can only recommend it to others.

We, two adults and two children (age 4 and 6) stayed there for a week.

Reservation

Ingacio Torrens (landlord) replied quickly to our request. We prepaid 15% of the total amount with Visa-credit card and he confirmed our payment.

Arrival

We went from Barcelona Airport (BCN) to Placa Catalunya by Areobus and then by taxi to the apartment. However, it might be easier to go by train directly to Passeig de Gracia and walk to the apartment. I recommend to call/text Ignacio upon arrival in the airport, then he will be at the apartment when you arrive.

The apartment

Bright, clean and newly reconditioned with everything needed for a family with kids; washing/dryer machine, dishwasher, oven, microwave, water boiler, spacious fridge/freezer, TV, air-condition and wifi. Two separate bedrooms and therefore ideal for four people.

The landlord

Ignacio Torrens is helpful, trustworthy, accurate and timely. He showed the apartment and gave instructions on how to operate the electronic equipment. By arrival we payed the rest of the amount plus a deposit. The deposit was returned by departure.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anne and family Thank you very much for your precise and detailed comments on how the booking and arrival at the apartment, in addition to explaining all housing services that worked correctly proceeded. In all our apartments "Colors Barcelona" we like to take care of every single detail to make your stay perfect or as you say you "Expectations fulfilled" Thank you very much for everything and hope to see you again! Ignacio Torrens THE WHITE HOUSE
5

Excellent apartment!!!

  • 5 of 5

The apartment is very nice, clean and comfortable. Is two blocks from the Passeig de Gràcia and had many pubs and restaurants around.

I recommend this property for groups of friends, couples or families.

Ignacio, the manager, is really friendly and helpful.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Josi Thanks for your kind and sincere comment . The White House is located in the so called GOLDEN SQUARE , more charismatic neighborhood of Barcelona. In only 4 months of his inauguration is considered how one of the nicest apartments , and more demands from people who want to stay . For you information my company Colorsbarcelona soon inaugurate another apartment in the same neighborhood ,The Silver House. I hope you can see it , ok ? Again, thank you very much for everything. See you soon ! Ignacio Torrens THE WHITE HOUSE

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Airport El Prat of Barcelona
Nearest Barpub
10 Metres
Clarís
Nearest Ferry
500 Metres
Port Vell of Barcelona
Nearest Golf
10 Kilometres
San Cugat del valles
Nearest Train
200 Metres
Station France
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
A-2
Nearest Restaurant
10 Metres
Josephine
Nearest Ski
90 Kilometres
La Molina
Nearest Beach
700 Metres
Barceloneta
Car: not necessary

Simply the most popular part of the city, where many citizens want to live to have the best shopping and landmarks of Barcelona and packed with high class people of Barcelona.

The White House is one block from Paseo de Gracia and Rambla Catalunya, the most beautiful streets of the city and the most wanted in the world.

Here you will find the best restaurants, shops, museums, cultural tours, cinemas, theaters ...

Simply the Most popular district of the city, where many Citizens want to live to have the best shopping and landmarks of Barcelona and Packed with high class people of Barcelona.

The Withe House is one block from Paseo de Gracia and Rambla Catalunya, the most beautiful streets of the city and of the Most Sought after in the world.

Here you will find the best restaurants, shops, museums, cultural tours, cinemas, theaters ...

Photos

Prices & Availability

From €108 Nightly

Prices for this holiday apartment in Dreta de l'Eixample , Eixample

Rental Basis:
per property
Prices quoted in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
HIGH SEASON
1 Apr 2015 - 31 May 2015
3 night minimum stay
€529
for 3 nights
From
€148
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add €25 per night, per additional guest
 
HIGH SEASON
1 Jun 2015 - 31 Jul 2015
4 night minimum stay
€717
for 4 nights
From
€158
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add €25 per night, per additional guest
 
HIGH SEASON
1 Aug 2015 - 31 Aug 2015
7 night minimum stay
€1,121
for 7 nights
From
€148
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add €25 per night, per additional guest
 
HIGH SEASON
1 Sep 2015 - 31 Oct 2015
3 night minimum stay
€499
for 3 nights
From
€138
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add €25 per night, per additional guest
 
LOW SEASON
1 Nov 2015 - 20 Dec 2015
3 night minimum stay
€409
for 3 nights
From
€108
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add €20 per night, per additional guest
 
HIGH SEASON
21 Dec 2015 - 7 Jan 2016
5 night minimum stay
€1,075
for 5 nights
From
€198
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add €25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
€397
for 2 nights
From
€156
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add €25 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning, towels, sheets €85
Refundable Damage Deposit €400
Notes To check the availability of The White House, please contact the owner, thank you.
Children under 4 years have a special price.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 90 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Dreta de l'Eixample in Eixample

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 75 m²
Location Type:
  • beach
  • city centre
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • - Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    - 2 Single Bed
    - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • Disco club
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Notes:
Living in The White House is having an opportunity of living in a romance, of Ideal way to understand the Citizens of Barcelona, ??or in family or friends and discover the city on foot, visiting all tourist Concerns and the best shops and restaurants in the best neighborhood in Barcelona.

Partner Offers

europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote