HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Sarah

Advertiser since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
People18
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Sarah

Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
26 November, 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

SUBSTANTIAL STONE MANSION WITH SWIMMING POOL

People18
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Overview

Photos and Description of this 8 bedroom holiday home in Sturminster Newton - Swallows Manor

9 luxurious bedrooms, indoor pool and dining table for all

Swallows manor is a 8/9 bedroom mansion beautifully refurbished with a Quaker Style Kitchen, new hardwood floors and elegant modern windows.

The property has been designed for happy family and friends reunions and holidays. Civilised Stag and Hen groups are also welcome.

There is masses to do in the local area. Historic and beautiful Sherborne with its Abbey, two castles and independent shopping is a short drive away, while all the local villages are picturesque and usually have a great country pub at their centre.

the Jurassic Dorset coast is nearby as are several impressive Hill forts and prehistoric sites like Bradbury rings, Hambledon Hill and Stonehenge.

Bath is about 45 minutes drive away, and you can stop on en route at the Kilver Court outlet which has Mulberry, Jack Wills, Orla Kiely, LK Bennet and others at big discounts.

Dorset is famous for it superb local produce, and we have great chefs that can provide a first class meal for you from only £25 per head for 3 courses. Our dining room seats everyone together too.

we also have a selection of activities from Clay shoots with the ladies world champion to Craft classes to create something memorable of from your stay.

The extensive property has 8 bedrooms, plus a sofa bed in the snug, and is on three floors with one ground floor bedroom.

From the property is it possible to walk all the way to Sherborne on footpaths and bridleways and only cross one public road!

There is a great games room with table football, air hockey etc to entertain kids.

Wifi is free and there is Sky TV

The large indoor heated pool is for your EXCLUSIVE use.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Sarah (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Sarah

we have just returned from our lovely weekend at Swallows, much fun was had by all.
Oct 2014
  • 1 of 8

Why HomeAway

People18
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

Reviews

2
based on 5 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Substantial Stone Mansion with Swimming pool
average rating of 2.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Substantial Stone Mansion with Swimming pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1172033
+44 -01747 811243
Sturminster Newton Shaftesbury and North Dorset
1

Very disappointing experience

  • 1 out of 5
Booked stay end 2013: Unfortunately no reviews for us to read, but ones read since are accurate in their comments. Property - good spacious accommodation, beds comfortable, property generally clean/poorly maintained, can’t recommend walking from it -walked to Stalbridge - not a pleasant experience. Aga in kitchen looks great, but in hot weather too hot to enjoy. Probably more appreciated out of season. Enjoyed days out to Poole, Bournmouth, Weymouth, & went for meal to the Swan in Sturminster Newton which we would highly recommend.
As stated in other reviews,problems duly noted were cold pool, already full rubbish bins, dining for 19 around one table impossible: We sent Owner a long list of problems (12+ items on 2nd day of stay) one regarding housekeeper contact, which was supposed to be left for us as Owner was on holiday that week & a note to the effect we didn’t expect to be charged for any items duly noted. Sent by a member of our party as I didn't have access to an email account. No answer was received during our stay. I sent Owner email when we got back home referring to previous email asking when deposit would be refunded. Owner replied she didn't know what I was talking, she hadn't received an email from me! she stated she was waiting for a housekeeper's report & if okay she would return deposit. Rechecked my copy of email details sent via member of party & it definitely was sent to Owner’s correct email address. Sent a copy of the long list on the 10th August &, disappointingly have to report that she has not replied to my email. T&Cs state refund repaid within 30 days of end of reservation period. So far nothing received within that time period!
  • Review Submitted: 08-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Christina
As you are well aware your deposit went in error to a lady with the same sir name , who stayed at the house two weeks before. As soon as this was discovered the deposit was paid directly into your account within 10 minutes.
Im so sad that you wrote this unhappy review. it seems that happy visitors dont manage to get round to it and unhappy ones do. i have had over over 1000 people stay at The Manor over the past year and have only had bad reviews from a very few.
I am really amazed by your comments on walks, walking to stalbridge is not recommended as it is along the road. there are literally miles and miles of beautiful public footpaths directly from the house that involve no contact with vehicles at all. you can walk through the deer park, or to the pub at Stourton caundle along a net work of paths crossing two large country estates. a quick glance at a map or online would have shown you this. you are the only visitor that i know of that has not enjoyed this wonderful facility.
your next complaint seems to be that you did not like having an Aga. most people enjoy this although, of course, it does take a little getting used to.
im sorry i was not easily contactable as i was on holiday. i checked my emails twice a day, and had none from you, and still do not have.
business
Substantial Stone Mansion with Swimming pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1172033
+44 -01747 811243
Sturminster Newton Shaftesbury and North Dorset
2

Disappointing

  • 2 out of 5
I was very disappointed with Swallow's Manor. Firstly, the house was dirty. The candles in the sitting room were thick with dust. There were spider webs that had clearly been there for weeks. The kitchen light fitting needed washing & lots of bulbs replacing. The dish cloth & tea towel (yes, singular) were grubby. Unfortunately there is no washing machine in the house, so I couldn't even wash them myself.
The house needs a good coat of paint. Lots of the skirting boards were chipped & scuffed. Bedroom locks and one of the bathroom locks did not work. The garden also needs better maintaining. One of our group pulled nettles out of the decking (a good 3 inches clear of the boards) to stop the children in our party hurting themselves.
When we arrived the bins were already full & the Aga had literally just been put on. We couldn't cook on the first evening as the Aga had not had enough time to warm up. The house is advertised as having a table that seats 19. It does not. We squeezed 13 around it & it was 'cosy'. We booked the cottage because it had an indoor heated pool. It is only after we booked that we were informed that the pool was only heated to 20 degrees. After much consultation with the owner we agreed to pay extra to have the pool heated to 27 degrees. This did not happen. The pool was only heated to 24 degrees & yet we had to pay for a service we did not receive. The pool was too cold for the small children to go in & adults also found it chilly unless swimming quickly.
A lot of the issues could have been overlooked but the attitude of the owner was so awful, I feel obliged to write this review. We paid extra for an early check, with the promise that we would be sent the details of the key log the morning of our arrival. These details were not sent & we had to chase them up after our check in time had past. The owner was rude to more than one member of the party & often does not answer her phone or respond to answer phone messages. We were very much given the impression that every request was too much bother for her & us renting her house was an inconvenience. When I asked if some of the twin bedrooms could made up as doubles, I was informed, rather bluntly, I could do it myself.
As a group we have stayed in many places in UK and abroad. We have never had such a poor experience as this. I feel very disappointed.
  • Review Submitted: 12-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gosh, what an angry person. I spoke to you several times while at the property and you were happy then. As you rented the house in January in a particularly cold week the pool heater was struggling to get the temperature higher than 24 degrees. You asked for the heater to be put on constant, and I explained that I was happy to do this if you were prepared to pay for half of the additional heating oil costs, you agreed to this. I did explain that such a large amount of water should take a long time to heat to a higher temperature, as as you were only staying for a weekend this was unlikely to have much affect. You were adamant that you wanted this so I complied with your request. Unsurprisingly the water temperature did not increase greatly. You then refused to pay for all the oil that had been used at your request.
I think this is the basis for writing such an unpleasant review 5 months later.
Since you stayed we have welcomed 522 other visitors, who have been very happy.
We do our utmost to give visitors a wonderful experience, and I'm terribly sad that you were so unhappy.
business
Substantial Stone Mansion with Swimming pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1172033
+44 -01747 811243
Sturminster Newton Shaftesbury and North Dorset
3

Huge characterful house, a little shabby in places

  • 3 out of 5
The house has a lot going for it, it's huge with very generous sized rooms, cosy feel and nice interesting lay out. It was a bit shabby in parts, although personally this didn't bother me, I guess ideally it could do with a decor uplift. The pool was pretty cool, too cold for some of the kids. The hot tub was fabulous - on the first day - although after 72 hours of 15 people in and out with no water recirculation/cleansing, it was pretty unappealing on the 3rd morning. The kitchen was completely without anything in the way of tea towels or other basics - which felt a little mean - and no oven glove; additionally surprising given the beautiful Aga whose doors were too hot to open. There was a comprehensive string of notes from the owner all around the house in tell-you-off style, which detracted a little from feeling welcome/at home, although some gave us a laugh. Overall we enjoyed our stay. It was a good destination for a group of friends with young kids as we were.
  • Review Submitted: 02-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I'm very puzzled by your comments on notes around the house as I do not leave any other than instructions on the use of hot tub, pool, oven etc. we are very relaxed owners and do not have any rules and regulations other than obvious safety ones.
The house was redecorated from top to bottom less than a year ago, but it is a popular property and our home.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
business
Substantial Stone Mansion with Swimming pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1172033
+44 -01747 811243
Sturminster Newton Shaftesbury and North Dorset
2

Lovely pool, maintenance issues with house

  • 2 out of 5
clean house, well appointed kitchen. Our stay( which included several elderly relatives) was marred by inaccurate descriptions and out of date/no instructions for facilities. Extremely curt reply from owner when this and other maintenance issues were mentioned e.g blocked gutters leading to damp stains, missing bathroom lock, toilet brush and lightbulbs from bedside lights. No i-pod docking station ( still mentioned as provided on website as at 16/7/14). Some traffic noise (when windows open) Would benefit from additional bathroom facilities especially if the max occupancy of 19 staying.
  • Review Submitted: 16-Jul-2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry to hear that you were not happy. It is a very large old house with many gutters, none are blocked and there is no damp stains inside, so I'm slightly puzzled by this comment.
Light bulbs are checked at every changeover but as there are over 35 in the house it inevitably happens that some pop over a 7 day period, as each room has a minimum of 3 lights I hope this was not too inconvenient.
I'm very please to hear that you were happy with the standard of cleanliness and the kitchen.
I understand from your emails that you had a wonderful weekend, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
business
Substantial Stone Mansion with Swimming pool
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1172033
+44 -01747 811243
Sturminster Newton Shaftesbury and North Dorset
2

Large house

  • 2 out of 5
Definitely a large house as advertised but a bit shabby inside. Remember to take all necessities with you as there is nothing to start you off, especially a cloth for the hot aga. We had a fun time we came prepared. Hot tub not included and no washing.
  • Review Submitted: 01-May-2014
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Not sure what you mean by ' a bit shabby inside' the house was totally redecorated and carpeted in August 2013.
Sadly this person did not read the advertisement properly and rather oversold it to his friends. We are clear about what is provided, including some basic to start you off when you arrive. The hot tub has always been an optional extra, indeed we did not have a hot tub when this booking was made. We always strive to please all of our very valued guests.

Location

Location

Nearest Airport
25 Kilometres
Bournemouth
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Stalbridge
Nearest Ferry
22 Kilometres
Weymouth
Nearest Golf
6 Kilometres
Sherborne
Nearest Train
3 Kilometres
Templecombe
Nearest Motorway
7 Kilometres
A303
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Kilometres
Stourton Caundle
Nearest Beach
18 Kilometres
Bournemouth
Car: necessary

This is a spectacular area, from Ancient Hillforts, castles and ruins to stylish shops and galleries. The World Famous Jurassic cost is 20 miles away as it the world heritage sits of Stonehenge and City of Bath. The countryside is very beautiful and unspoilt and the architecture is traditional and picturesque.

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Rental rates for this holiday house in Sturminster Newton, Shaftesbury and North Dorset

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Rate Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Rate
 
late autumn
3 Nov 2014 - 18 Dec 2014
3 night minimum stay
£1,125
for 3 nights
From
£375
From
£733
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,950
 
 
xmas & New Year
19 Dec 2014 - 2 Jan 2015
7 night minimum stay
£4,500
for 7 nights
£4,500
 
 
Early spring
3 Jan 2015 - 12 Feb 2015
3 night minimum stay
£750
for 3 nights
From
£250
From
£600
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,100
 
 
spring half term
13 Feb 2015 - 22 Feb 2015
3 night minimum stay
£900
for 3 nights
From
£300
From
£750
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,650
 
 
Early summer
23 Feb 2015 - 26 Mar 2015
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
£1,200
for 3 nights
From
£400
From
£750
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,550
 
 
Easter holidays
27 Mar 2015 - 19 Apr 2015
3 night minimum stay
£1,800
for 3 nights
From
£600
From
£950
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£3,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £500
Notes No minimum stay. Reduction of £100 per night for stays less than 3 days. Changeover days for weekly bookings Mondays or Fridays only. All other stays flexible. If you have special requirements please email or phone as we can usually accommodate varying requirements.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.

Facilities

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Sturminster Newton in Shaftesbury and North Dorset

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 19 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Separate WC's
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet
    Bathroom 5 - Shower Enclosure , in the pool house
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 7 - 2 Sofa bed/Futon
    Bedroom 8 - 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 6 - 4 Single Bed , 2 bunk beds
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
We welcome Civilised Stag, and hen weekendsas well as family celebrations. and can provide various activities like Clay shooting, craft classes, pampering, chefs etc

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote