HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Sarah

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
People18
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Sarah

Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
13 May, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Substantial Stone Mansion with Swimming pool

People18
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 8 bedroom holiday home in Sturminster Newton - Swallows Manor

9 luxurious bedrooms, indoor pool and dining table for all

Swallows manor is a 8/9 bedroom mansion beautifully refurbished with a Quaker Style Kitchen, new hardwood floors and elegant modern windows.

The property has been designed for happy family and friends reunions and holidays. Civilised Stag and Hen groups are also welcome.

There is masses to do in the local area. Historic and beautiful Sherborne with its Abbey, two castles and independent shopping is a short drive away, while all the local villages are picturesque and usually have a great country pub at their centre.

the Jurassic Dorset coast is nearby as are several impressive Hill forts and prehistoric sites like Bradbury rings, Hambledon Hill and Stonehenge.

Bath is about 45 minutes drive away, and you can stop on en route at the Kilver Court outlet which has Mulberry, Jack Wills, Orla Kiely, LK Bennet and others at big discounts.

Dorset is famous for it superb local produce, and we have great chefs that can provide a first class meal for you from only £25 per head for 3 courses. Our dining room seats everyone together too.

we also have a selection of activities from Clay shoots with the ladies world champion to Craft classes to create something memorable of from your stay.

The extensive property has 8 bedrooms, plus a sofa bed in the snug, and is on three floors with one ground floor bedroom.

From the property is it possible to walk all the way to Sherborne on footpaths and bridleways and only cross one public road!

There is a great games room with table football, air hockey etc to entertain kids.

Wifi is free and there is Sky TV

The large indoor heated pool is for your EXCLUSIVE use.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Sarah (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
13 May, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Sarah

we have just returned from our lovely weekend at Swallows, much fun was had by all. We loved the house and hope to return
Oct 2014
  • 1 of 8

Why HomeAway

People18
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

2.8
based on 13 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Substantial Stone Mansion with Swimming pool
average rating of 2.8461537 based on 21 reviews
4

Delightful Dorset stay

  • 4 of 5

The house was exactly how it was describe online a spacious kitchen which was well equipped, large living area and huge sofa's perfect for a cozy night in and a beautiful pool house with its own toilet and changing room facilities. The house was very clean, a few areas needed a little bit of tlc such as ceiling and wallpaper in the dining room but apart from that it was spotless.

The owner was very helpful, answered all my questions and sent through lots of activite packs and Information on the house via email.

I would defiantly recomend this property to a friend I would revisit my self as I had such a wonderful time away.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay it was a pleasure having you in our home
2

Freezing pool clouded visiy

  • 2 of 5

Lovely spacious property, beautiful setting. Please don't advertise an indoor pool if it is set at just shy of 20 degrees as this renders it completely unusable unless you are a marine, (guide for pool temps is 27-32 for indoor pools). This has clouded our visit as we have had to deal with the disappointment of several children. It would seem this is consistently mentioned in reviews and should be listened to.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 11, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
1

Dissapointing

  • 1 of 5

The décor was tired. It was claimed to be recently redecorated and this was not the case when generally.

The poor std of cleanliness; We had to wash the fridge and clear the cobwebs (low level) for example.

Garden furniture - awkwardly positioned within the pool house and moving to an external position on the patio required great effort. It is also tatty with soe chairs not useable due to damage.

Jacuzzi - full of previous user’s hair which was disgusting, We paid a supplementary figure for this!

No Washing machine - I have never stayed in a holiday cottage which alleged to cater for 19 people including children and no facility to wash clothes.

WIFI facility – useless and didn’t work.

Sky facility – was it unreasonable to take this feature as meaning we could watch sky channels? A box was there but no viewing card so no regular sky package channels were available.

Un-inviting BBQ – So rusty and old it was not used.

Poor instruction/advice generally for guests. A visitors book has always been available where we have stayed. I suspect she doesn’t have one for reasons that are obvious.

Strict demands for payment to the day or in advance of terms but when it came to returning the deposit we had to wait some 6 weeks after we left. Is it too much to expect the same response as we provided in this regard?

Games room pool table turned out to be for kids up to 8yr old not a proper pool table. Again a feature we were looking forward to not used.

Biggest disappointment was cold swimming pool despite requests to ensure it was heated to comfortable temperature. I did bring this to your attention in advance of the visit and as advised highlighted the issue to give her the opportunity to attend to our concerns. Our request fell on deaf ears before and when we were there. I have a heated pool at home which I heat to 28 degrees. She thinks 20-22 deg is acceptable and that was all that mattered as far as she was concerned. The main reason we went for the cottage was the pool so the kids in particular could swim with the UK weather risk obviously a concern for us. The pool was not used all week

  • Review Submitted: Feb 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
4

Lovely with fab rural views !

  • 4 of 5

We had a great girlie weekend....Highly recommend the hire of the hot tub and having a chef in for catering for 1 of the nights ! We enjoyed socialising at the house, the pool, the hot tub and our fab dinner party !

  • Review Submitted: Jan 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a good time Sarah
4

Lovley with fab views !

  • 4 of 5

We had a great girlie weekend....Highly recommend the hire of the hot tub and having a chef in for catering for 1 of the nights ! We enjoyed socialising at the house, the pool, the hot tub and our fab dinner party !

  • Review Submitted: Jan 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
2

Disappointing

  • 2 of 5

Potentially this could be an amazing venue with a little bit more thought from the owners. We arrived on Friday evening in the dark, located the key but had not been told that this was for the back door so we fumbled around trying to gain entry for a while. There was no front door key so all access was via the back door. Not a problem but this should have been communicated. The heating was on a timer with no access to overide. in previous reviews the owner states that she assumes people will be out in the day. WHY? We are spending a lot of money to stay in the house and we should be able to make the most of the facilities in the warm all day long. The weekend we stayed it was -2 yet no heating all day. The cafetiere in the kitchen is for one and yet the house sleeps 19. A cafetiere for 8 would be more reasonable. Why not include a bag of logs in the price so that when people arrive late they can build a fire? In the pool room was an old animal/bird cage with debris from previos animals in the bottom and dirty old animal water bottles still inside. Revolting! The little touches are what makes a venue special. A welcome pack is always a nice touch. In a competitive market this would go a long way. On a positive note most of the beds were comfortable and the hot tub was lovely.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry it was dark when you arrived! I sent you detailed instructions about the property and the arrival arrangements which evidently for whatever reason, you did not read. The heating is on for 12 hours a day which we are able to remotely monitor, the average temperature in the house for the duration of your stay was 21.5°. I make no assumption of whether you will be in or out or what you choose to do, however most people Hastay want to get out and enjoy the countryside. It is very easy for us to increase the time or the temperature while you're at the house had you got in touch to request this. The cage in the pool house that you refer to is an antique wire work cage and is highly decorative. It has no animal debris inside or anything else unpleasant. We have been letting this property for over two years and nobody has ever commented on it before. I'm sorry you didn't like it. I am very fond of it, with its pretty curly wirework. It is also pictured on the website. If you advised me in advance, that you found this unattractive in any way we would've removed it for the duration of your stay. There are four large cafeteieres in the kitchen, and a small single one. It's a great shame that you did not contact me while you were at the property and I would have endeavoured ensure that you're happy.

Location

Nearest Airport
25 Kilometres
Bournemouth
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Stalbridge
Nearest Ferry
22 Kilometres
Weymouth
Nearest Golf
6 Kilometres
Sherborne
Nearest Train
3 Kilometres
Templecombe
Nearest Motorway
7 Kilometres
A303
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Kilometres
Stourton Caundle
Nearest Beach
18 Kilometres
Bournemouth
Car: necessary

This is a spectacular area, from Ancient Hillforts, castles and ruins to stylish shops and galleries. The World Famous Jurassic cost is 20 miles away as it the world heritage sits of Stonehenge and City of Bath. The countryside is very beautiful and unspoilt and the architecture is traditional and picturesque.

Photos

Prices & Availability

From £320 Nightly

Prices for this holiday house in Sturminster Newton, Shaftesbury and North Dorset

Rental Basis:
per property
Prices quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
summer half term
22 May 2015 - 7 Jun 2015
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
£1,238
for 3 nights
From
£412
From
£884
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£3,300
 
 
june
8 Jun 2015 - 2 Jul 2015
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
£1,050
for 3 nights
From
£350
From
£733
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,950
 
 
school summer holidays
3 Jul 2015 - 6 Sep 2015
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
£1,500
for 3 nights
From
£500
From
£1,033
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£3,900
 
 
late summer
7 Sep 2015 - 22 Oct 2015
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
£1,125
for 3 nights
From
£375
From
£733
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,950
 
 
autumn half term
23 Oct 2015 - 1 Nov 2015
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
£1,500
for 3 nights
From
£500
From
£983
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£3,300
 
 
autumn
2 Nov 2015 - 20 Dec 2015
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
£960
for 3 nights
From
£320
From
£720
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,950
 
 
christmas and new year
21 Dec 2015 - 3 Jan 2016
7 night minimum stay
£4,500
for 7 nights
£4,500
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £500.00
Notes No minimum stay. Reduction of £100 per night for stays less than 3 days. Changeover days for weekly bookings Mondays or Fridays only. All other stays flexible. If you have special requirements please email or phone as we can usually accommodate varying requirements.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Sturminster Newton in Shaftesbury and North Dorset

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 19 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Separate WC's
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet
    Bathroom 5 - Shower Enclosure , in the pool house
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 7 - 2 Sofa bed/Futon
    Bedroom 8 - 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 6 - 4 Single Bed , 2 bunk beds
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
We welcome Civilised Stag, and hen weekendsas well as family celebrations. and can provide various activities like Clay shooting, craft classes, pampering, chefs etc

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote