HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Amanda Richards

Speaks English
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Amanda Richards

Speaks English
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Prior to paying a reservation deposit, always verify payment instructions by calling the number on this listing.
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

MOUNTAIN CHALET IN THE HEART OF GLENCOE VALLEY

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday chalet in Glencoe

4 bedroom, 2 bathroom, sleeps a maximum of 8

Superbly situated chalet in the heart of the Glencoe valley and next door to the Clachaig Inn, famous for its real ale and good food (Featured in The Week - Britains cosiest pubs!). Excellent access to skiing, climbing, sailing, angling and many other activities and only a short walk to Signal Rock and the Glencoe information centre.

'An excellent cottage in the most beautiful location. Lots of space with a real family feel'

'We had the most perfect holiday in Scotland! Thank you for sharing this wonderful cottage with us!'

'Here again for another year...the cottage was warm and well equipped...'

'Excellent accommodation. Regular home from home. Not the first time we've stayed and will not be the last'

'...cosy cottage, great views....'

'great wee place next to the best pub in Scotland'.

The cottage stands in one corner of its own grounds of approximately one acre which is mainly scrub and rocks with a terrace to sit on and looks out to the surrounding hills. It is next to a busy pub which provides real ale, a huge choice of whiskeys and excellent food. The accommodation is warm and comfortable and has extra storage for boots and climbing equipment.

Room sizes:

Sitting/dining room 19'10 x 18' max (L shape)

Kitchen 11'10 x 9'8 max

Bedroom 1 13'9 x 11'8

Bedroom 2 11'9 x 11'8

Bedroom 3 11'9 x 7'7

Bedroom 4 9'11 x 7'10

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • children welcome

Amanda Richards

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.co.uk since 2002
Speaks English
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Prior to paying a reservation deposit, always verify payment instructions by calling the number on this listing.
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

4.2
based on 6 holidaymaker reviews

Write a Review
Mountain chalet in the heart of Glencoe Valley
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews
business
Mountain chalet in the heart of Glencoe Valley
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1143
+44 07932006861
Glencoe Fort William & Lochaber
5

A GREAT BASE TO WALK THE HIGHLANDS

  • 5 out of 5
We have been regular visitors over the years.The chalet has been recently upgraded and is very comfortable and warm. Wonderful place to base yourself for walks including Ben Nevis.The pub next door has fine music and friendly clientele.We hope to be back again next year and we would recommend the property to anyone considering a holiday in the Highlands.
  • Review Submitted: 22-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Mountain chalet in the heart of Glencoe Valley
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1143
+44 07932006861
Glencoe Fort William & Lochaber
4

NICE COTTAGE. STUNNING LOCATION

  • 4 out of 5
We have been going to Clachaig cottage for a few years now - usually in October.
The cottage itself has improved year on year (the kitchen was refitted, a new roof was put on, a new hot water supply and so on). The cottage is huge with 4 bedrooms, 3 toilets, 2 bathrooms and a spacious lounge/diner. Frank and Jessie (the couple that look after it) are always very friendly and obliging - nothing is too much trouble.
The setting is stunning - nestled in the mountains of Glencoe. The Clachaig Inn is next door - for a drink or decent pub meal.
The location is ideal for walking or a base for seeing the Highlands - we do both.
We keep going back and have booked again for 2014 - that will be our 8th visit - enough said.
  • Review Submitted: 19-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Mountain chalet in the heart of Glencoe Valley
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1143
+44 07932006861
Glencoe Fort William & Lochaber
north east
2

OF MICE AND MOULD

  • 2 out of 5
After reading the reviews of the cottage we were really looking forward to our stay there, despite it being more expensive than we have usually paid for staying in this are. The first thing that struck us upon entering the cottage was the very strong smell of mould/damp, this was especially bad in the bedrooms and we noted that upon leaving, all our clothing/baggage had picked up this smell. My partner who is asthmatic had problems during the night due to damp atmosphere.
It also became apparent that we were not the only occupants as the cottage seemed to have its own resident family of mice, note to owners ultrasonic rodent deterrents do not work. All in all very disappointed in the property and feel that the price did not reflect the poor standard of accommodation.
  • Review Submitted: 26-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear you felt our cottage was expensive, it does sleep eight comfortably so it is priced at very good value for a larger group rather than only two. We are very concerned to hear of your worries about damp, I do wish you had called our housekeeper when you arrived who is always available, and would have dealt with any problems right away if she had been made aware. The cottage has been fully booked all summer and nobody else has mentioned anything amiss, indeed we have checked since receiving this and the current guests are extremely happy with everything, but we shall investigate fully to be doubly sure, thank you for bringing it to our attention.
business
Mountain chalet in the heart of Glencoe Valley
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1143
+44 07932006861
Glencoe Fort William & Lochaber
5

FANTASTIC HOLIDAY - FABULOUS LOCATION

  • 5 out of 5
We had a wonderful time, staying in late August and early September. The chalet is situated in a stunning location, deep in the Pass of Glencoe. It’s ideal for walks along the Pass (or up to the ski slopes) or for driving trips further afield. We drove as far as Portree on the Isle of Skye and back in a day, taking the ferry to Skye from Mallaig. We drove along the shores of Loch Ness and took a boat trip out of Fort Augustus, which is a charming town. It was well worth driving around as the scenery in the West Scotland/Glencoe area is out of this world.

Mention must be made of the chalet’s neighbouring pub, The Clachaig Inn, which is warm, friendly and well stocked with good beer and whisky, serving tasty and good value food. The main bar is round the back, as opposed to the Lounge bar which is at the front. Given good weather, sitting outside for lunch whilst looking at the hills is a complete joy.

The chalet’s facilities are good. The kitchen appears to be brand new as do the dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer. We can confirm that, as Conrad and Amanda have said, the TV has been replaced and is brand new. Jan Dutch is correct that the signal is not so good, but this has nothing to do with the TV and more to do with the mountainous location of the chalet! We recommend that future guests bring their own DVDs to the chalet which look great on the new TV and DVD player.

We’re surprised that Jan Dutch found the sofas to be back breaking. We found the sitting room and the sofas to be comfortable and easy to relax in. But there again, there were only two of us!

We’ll be back soon.
  • Review Submitted: 16-Sep-2010
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Mountain chalet in the heart of Glencoe Valley
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1143
+44 07932006861
Glencoe Fort William & Lochaber
4

"GREAT PLACE" (BUT.....)

"Great Place" (but.....)
  • 4 out of 5
We (family, 6 adults from Holland) had a very good and nice holiday in one of the most beautiful parts of Scotland.
The chalet was good with a perfect equipped kitchen, good beds.
But sadly the sitting room was very poor. A old-fashioned TV-set with hardly a signal, too small for 8 persons with very bad (back breaking) benches. The (nice) ‘Living room’ as showed on the picture on the internet site could we not find in the chalet, sadly.
But most of de days we were outside enjoying Scotland.
  • Review Submitted: 21-Jul-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. The TV has now been replaced and the website has been updated to remove the old picture of the living room.We shall speed up our sofa replacement plan! We are very pleased that you liked the rest of the chalet so much. Best wishes Conrad and Amanda
business
Mountain chalet in the heart of Glencoe Valley
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1143
+44 07932006861
Glencoe Fort William & Lochaber
manchester { - LANCASHIRE}
5

GLENCOE

  • 5 out of 5
clean,lovely views plenty of space,great for bikers to use as a base to tour west of scotland, great pub next door, 5 minutes from local village,shop,post office,take away,
  • Review Submitted: 06-Sep-2008
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Location

Car: necessary

The West Highlands offer a wealth of scenery, history and adventure. Every year new attractions arrive making this the ideal destination for those seeking thrills, families with children and anyone looking for the peace and quiet of the hills.

Enquire Now Enquire Now

Photos

Enquire Now Enquire Now

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Rental rates for this holiday chalet in Glencoe, Fort William & Lochaber

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Rate Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Rate
 
high
1 Jun 2014 - 30 Sep 2014
3 night minimum stay
£450
for 3 nights
From
£150
£650
 
 
low
1 Oct 2014 - 31 May 2015
3 night minimum stay
£450
for 3 nights
From
£150
£550
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee 15
Notes Ring or email for full details. Also please ring for rates for Christmas and New Year
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Glencoe in Fort William & Lochaber

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Parking
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Hob
  • Oven
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Grill
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom - Toilet
    Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 2 doubles, 2 twins
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • Video Player
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • horse riding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • ski
  • swimming
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Linen and towels are included free. Dogs are charged at £15 each per week.
Enquire Now Enquire Now