HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Francois

Advertiser since: 2007
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English, French
People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Francois

Advertiser since: 2007
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
4 December, 2014
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

SPACIOUS CITY CENTRE 3 BEDROOM APARTMENT

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday apartment in Stockbridge - Great King Street Duplex

Large 3 Bedroom Apartment Sleeping 8 People

This fantastically spacious apartment is located on Great King Street in Edinburgh's city centre being just a 10 minute walk from George Street and Princes Street. It is on the top floor (2 flights of stairs) of a traditional Georgian period town house which was constructed around 1815 and extends over 2 floors with the largest bedroom taking up the entire upper floor. The accommodation otherwise comprises a very spacious living room with feature marble fireplace, separate dining area, fitted kitchen, 2 double bedrooms, single bedroom, bathroom with bath and separate shower and an additional toilet. Wifi Internet access is provided and parking may be available on request for an additional charge.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Francois (Property Manager)
Advertiser since: 2007
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
4 December, 2014

Why HomeAway

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Trust & Security
Free protection up to £700 for all bookings.
£10,000 fraud protection when you pay using the secure HomeAway Payments system. 
Low cost, tailor-made insurance exclusively for holiday rentals from Europ Assistance. Get a quote

Reviews

Spacious City Centre 3 Bedroom Apartment
average rating of 2.0 based on 1 reviews
business
Spacious City Centre 3 Bedroom Apartment
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1141099
+44 -(0)797 3345 559
Stockbridge Edinburgh
2

Family Appartment

  • 2 out of 5
potentially a great apartment: central,close to bus routes and essential shops,well appointed, ideal for a large family stay - everything going for it.BUT our stay was spoilt by too much going wrong: the hot water/heating system was not reliable and ultimately broke down completely.(Cold showers on the morning of a family wedding are not funny-) The communication with the street door (from the top floor - 50 stairs up) did not work - so when someone came we had to go down and up every time - several times a day. The inventory of kitchen equipment had not been done accurately. A bedside light did not work. All this suggests that the place had not been checked properly before our arrival. Very disappointing. And added to that, the owner had been very difficult to contact before our arrival: very few emails had been answered.
  • Review Submitted: 02-Dec-2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: It is fair to say that the boiler was a serious headache! After your departure we had to re-house two other bookings because there was a serious fault with the boiler and subsequently it took over a week to repair. It is quite a new boiler, being less than 4 years old, so both engineers who attended were surprised that we were experiencing problems especially as this particular model is known for its reliability! Once you reported the problem we did attend to it immediately and arranged for an engineer to visit. He thought it was down to a loss of pressure so he topped up the system and it was working fine. A few days later when the problem was reported again I went straight round and there was no pressure in the system so I topped it up and once again it started to work. Each time a problem was reported it was acted upon immediately. In my experience problems with central heating systems can manifest themselves at any point so it is very difficult to predict when something will fail. Usually when it does go wrong it can be repaired quite quickly, unfortunately in this case it could not be and for that I am sorry but I am not sure what more we could have done.

Unfortunately it is not possible for me to check and test all the equipment in the property, and anything relating to the building as a whole, but I do ask my cleaner to try and report any breakages/problems that she comes across. If guests report anything then it can be acted upon immediately so when you informed me that some crockery was missing I said that I could deliver anything that was required straight round but you said it was not necessary. I don't recall the door entry system being mentioned because if it had been then we could have sent someone round to look at it. As for the lamp, this too can be resolved very easily once reported as I carry a selection of spare light bulbs in my car for exactly this situation. In fact we also have a spare lamp in the store cupboard so this also could have been used.

I am very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay. A seriously troublesome boiler was compounded by a couple of other issues which could have been rectified quite easily had we known about them during your stay.

Location

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Edinburgh
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Waverley Station
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

From £135 Nightly

Rental rates for this holiday apartment in Stockbridge, Edinburgh

Rental Basis:
property
Rental rates quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Rate Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Rate
 
Winter
1 Nov 2014 - 19 Dec 2014
3 night minimum stay
£450
for 3 nights
From
£150
£700
 
 
Winter Low
3 Jan 2015 - 31 Jan 2015
3 night minimum stay
£405
for 3 nights
From
£135
£650
 
 
Spring Low
1 Feb 2015 - 14 Mar 2015
3 night minimum stay
£480
for 3 nights
From
£160
£750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Notes The rates may vary depending on number of people staying, length of stay and special events. Please contact me for a precise rate. Discounts are available for a longer stay.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Stockbridge in Edinburgh

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 100 m²
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • city centre
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more
*Terms & Conditions apply

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Confirm Price & Contact

Enter dates to calculate a quote